Who’s In Charge?

As many of you know I also contribute to 66Books In a Year blog. What you read below was posted there this morning as well.

Scripture:

Numbers 20, 10 Then Moses and Aaron gathered the assembly together before the rock, and he said to them, “Hear now, you rebels: shall we bring water for you out of this rock?”11 And Moses lifted up his hand and struck the rock with his staff twice, and water came out abundantly, and the congregation drank, and their livestock.12 And the Lord said to Moses and Aaron, “Because you did not believe in me, to uphold me as holy in the eyes of the people of Israel, therefore you shall not bring this assembly into the land that I have given them.”13 These are the waters of Meribah, where the people of Israel quarreled with the Lord, and through them he showed himself holy.

Mark 15, 33 And when the sixth hourt had come, there was darkness over the whole land until the ninth hour. 34 And at the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” (ESV)

A contrast in reactions. Moses lost his patience with the children of Israel and took matters into his own hands at the waters of Meribah. Jesus stayed patient to the end. Both knew the plan, but one lost his way while the other stayed steadfast till the end. I heard someone who was desperately seeking a relationship with God state that he knew the New Testament was true. Who includes what seems to be an unflattering story about the hero in the book? We read it here and know that Jesus did all that was asked of him. He didn’t short-circuit the plan. Even at the thought of being abandoned by the Father.

I don’t know about you but there are many times I lose patience with God. I grab things back into my own hands and work things out my way. It’s never the best or even close to what God has in store for me even when I’m feeling alone and abandoned. I don’t know about you, but my goal in this coming week is to be more like Jesus and less like a Moses. Let’s see what God has in store.

Father God thank you for the plans you have for me. Help me to trust you with everything I have. I pray that this week I wouldn’t take the short-cuts. I pray I won’t lose heart or patience, but to rely solely on you for the outcomes in my life. I pray these things in the all-knowing name of Jesus, Amen.

What are you giving to God this week? What plan is He working out for you?

Leave a Reply

