God’s Provision:

I write for 66books. It’s a blog that works through the Bible in a year. The post below also appears on 66books today. I would encourage you to check it out. It’s a great way to stay in God’s Word this year.

Genesis 20, 21, 22, Matthew 6:19-34

Scripture:

Genesis 20

Abraham and Abimelech

1 From there Abraham journeyed toward the territory of the Negeb and lived between Kadesh and Shur; and he sojourned in Gerar.2 And Abraham said of Sarah his wife, “She is my sister.” And Abimelech king of Gerar sent and took Sarah.3 But God came to Abimelech in a dream by night and said to him, “Behold, you are a dead man because of the woman whom you have taken, for she is a man’s wife.”4 Now Abimelech had not approached her. So he said, “Lord, will you kill an innocent people?5 Did he not himself say to me, ‘She is my sister’? And she herself said, ‘He is my brother.’ In the integrity of my heart and the innocence of my hands I have done this.”6 Then God said to him in the dream, “Yes, I know that you have done this in the integrity of your heart, and it was I who kept you from sinning against me. Therefore I did not let you touch her.7 Now then, return the man’s wife, for he is a prophet, so that he will pray for you, and you shall live. But if you do not return her, know that you shall surely die, you and all who are yours.”(NASB)

Observation:

Is this a coincidence or the Holy Spirit’s timing. Really all these passages point to God’s provision in our lives. Whether it’s the passage above or the Matthew passage it all has to do with trusting God’s provision for us. It’s a theme that runs throughout the Bible. Here Abraham is caught lying about his relationship with Sarah. His personal safety isn’t found in human design, but in a relationship with the living God of the universe. It’s simple and profound and yet so many in the Bible missed it. In the following chapters we see Abraham understanding this truth of God’s provision when he takes Isaac to the mountain top for sacrifice. God will provide was his comfort. And God did provide.

Application:

As mentioned above the lessons of God’s provision are laced throughout the Bible. We all understand this concept in our heads, but those truths don’t make it to our hearts or actions. I’m in that number. My first reaction when I hit trouble in my life is to worry not trust. Then my worry turns to scheming. I think of ways I can extricate myself from the circumstances at hand. By starting with God rather than self is what He is longing for us to do. Those times when I do that the rewards are generous and lasting. Let’s try to apply that lesson every time we read about God’s provision in the Bible during this new year of 2012.

Prayer:

Father God I confess that I am far from where you long for me to be. I worry, scheme and talk my way out of life’s scrapes. I seldom look to you first for your provision. I pray that 2012 will be a year of trust instead of worry, a year of prayer not scheming. Thank you now for the provision that will come because of this act of faithfulness. I pray these things in Jesus Name, Amen.

dmbaldwin

2 responses to “God’s Provision:

    • Now that you say it … I think I’m the same way! However if I wake in the middle of the night and start thinking, the thinking goes to worrying and then the scheming. Thank you for the comment!
      Dave

Leave a Reply

