Guide me, O thou great Jehovah:

Yesterday morning at the royal wedding the hymn that was sung by the congregation was that great Welsh melody, Guide me, O thou Great Jehovah. I found myself in my bedroom singing it to the top of my lungs along with the congregation. What an awesome hymn to sing at one’s wedding. Hopefully the royal couple will remember its words and rely on the One who is supreme and great over all things!

Interesting, too, that this melody is a Welsh rugby tune as well. Wonder which came first.

I have included the words here for you to contemplate. What other hymns would be fitting to sing at a wedding that would remind those in attendance of God’s great goodness and power?

1.	Guide me, O thou great Jehovah,
	pilgrim through this barren land.
	I am weak, but thou art mighty;
	hold me with thy powerful hand.
	Bread of heaven, bread of heaven,
	feed me till I want no more;
	feed me till I want no more.

2.	Open now the crystal fountain,
	whence the healing stream doth flow;
	let the fire and cloudy pillar
	lead me all my journey through.
	Strong deliverer, strong deliverer,
	be thou still my strength and shield;
	be thou still my strength and shield.

3.	When I tread the verge of Jordan,
	bid my anxious fears subside;
	death of death and hell's destruction,
	land me safe on Canaan's side.
	Songs of praises, songs of praises,
	I will ever give to thee;
	I will ever give to thee.
2 responses to “Guide me, O thou great Jehovah:

  1. I though that it was especially fitting since it was noted that it was the final hymn at Diana’s funeral. Our family has used “Great is Thy Faithfulness” (our class hymn at Houghton)in several weddings and my dad’s funeral. As in “In Christ Alone” “… from life’s first cry to final breath, Jesus commands my destiny”. We also used “Be Thou My Vision”. I though the inclusion of Charles Wesley’s “Love Divine – All Love’s Excelling” to also be moving. The Scripture from Romans 12 was also so challenging and beautifully shared as well.

    • Thank you Janet. I love your thoughts. Another hymn we had at our wedding was “Savior Like a Shepherd Lead Us.” It was sung at my mother’s wedding as well.
      I appreciated all the feedback I got from this post on twitter and Facebook as well.
      Blessings,
      Dave

Leave a Reply

