Can We Escape so Great A Salvation?

I am a contributor to the blog 66books in a year. This post is the one I did for 66books today. Let me know what you think of this great passage of Scripture and the Holy Spirit’s gifts He gives us.

Scripture:

Hebrews 2:1-4, 1 We must pay the most careful attention, therefore, to what we have heard, so that we do not drift away. 2 For since the message spoken through angels was binding, and every violation and disobedience received its just punishment, 3 how shall we escape if we ignore so great a salvation? This salvation, which was first announced by the Lord, was confirmed to us by those who heard him. 4 God also testified to it by signs, wonders and various miracles, and by gifts of the Holy Spirit distributed according to his will. (New International Version)

Observation:

What a great testimony to the salvation we have in Christ! These verses are loaded with proof after proof of how we know salvation is sure and ours. The last proof, however, is one we may miss. It’s the proof of the Holy Spirit working through us in the gifts He has given us. It is put on the same level as signs and wonders and various miracles. God’s Holy Spirit working through us in the gifts we have is another proof of our salvation! One of the questions that precedes this list is linked here. “How can we escape so great a salvation?” How can we if we have a gift or two or three of the Holy Spirit working in us? They is always with us. As Eric Liddell stated, “I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me fast. And when I run I feel His pleasure.”

Application:

I’m not sure my mind can comprehend this truth. How wonderful and glorious is this fact that every time we exercise the spiritual gifts the Holy Spirit has given us it is a testimony to the salvation we enjoy! I am not sure I have been conscious of this fact when I have been teaching, or leading or starting new ministries. That these actions are an outworking, an assurance of my salvation in Christ! The eternal empowers the temporal and makes it eternal not only on the behalf of others, but for us as well.

Prayer:

Father God what an awesome truth You give us! Help us to be conscious of the salvation we have in You the next time we teach, or serve or discharge any gift Your Holy Spirit has given us. Help us to not take lightly the gifts we have received. Give us boldness and grace as we serve You and Your church. We pray these things in Jesus Name, Amen.

dmbaldwin

Leave a comment