Remembering God’s Faithfulness:

Once again it is my privilege to post a devotional on http://66books.wordpress.com. I would encourage you to check into that resource if you need a Bible reading plan or a brief devotional each day. Below you’ll find the post from today’s reading. I hope you are challenged through reading it.

Scripture: Nehemiah 9:9-15

9And you saw the affliction of our fathers in Egypt and heard their cry at the Red Sea,10 and performed signs and wonders against Pharaoh and all his servants and all the people of his land, for you knew that they acted arrogantly against our fathers. And you made a name for yourself, as it is to this day.11 And you divided the sea before them, so that they went through the midst of the sea on dry land, and you cast their pursuers into the depths, as a stone into mighty waters.12 By a pillar of cloud you led them in the day, and by a pillar of fire in the night to light for them the way in which they should go.13 You came down on Mount Sinai and spoke with them from heaven and gave them right rules and true laws, good statutes and commandments,14 and you made known to them your holy Sabbath and commanded them commandments and statutes and a law by Moses your servant.15 You gave them bread from heaven for their hunger and brought water for them out of the rock for their thirst, and you told them to go in to possess the land that you had sworn to give them. (ESV)

Observation:

What a turning point in the life of the Israelites! After hearing the law being read they wept and were contrite for their sins. Then comes chapter nine of Nehemiah where the people recount the faithfulness of God. The above passage is part of that remembrance of how God had been faithful to them in the past. Elsewhere in Scripture it’s recorded that the people of Israel in an earlier time in their history had even forgot to pass down these stories of God’s faithful provision in their lives. No one knew the story of the parting of the Red Sea! How could that happen? Well on this day they remembered and retold the stories of old.

Application:

We look at that scene and are in wonder of how a whole people could forget the mighty acts of God in their midst. Yet, I wonder how many times I forget the great deeds of God’s faithfulness in my life. I am much more apt to remember when things have gone wrong, or when I felt God wasn’t there for me. However, when I stop to think of all His blessings in my life it is overwhelming. My family, our home, our ministries, our health, His guidance over the years in making good and right decisions just to mention a few. What blessings from God’s faithful hand are you forgetting today? Take some time and write out a list of his faithful acts in your life just since 2011 has begun. I’m sure you’ll find yourself overwhelmed as I am.

Prayer:

Father-God, thank You for Your blessing and faithfulness in my life. Help me never to take Your care and faithfulness for granted. Help me to live in light of Your mighty deeds every day. I do pray these things in the strong and faithful Name of Jesus.

dmbaldwin

Leave a Reply

