Fitting Thoughts from 66Books for the end of 2009:

This is my last posting of 2009 for the 66Books in a year blog. It has been a great experience to be a part of this project. It’s going on for another year, so many thanks to Courtney Lilly et al for producing such a transforming work.

Blessings to you all!

Dave

Scripture:

Jude 24Now to him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you blameless before the presence of his glory with great joy, 25to the only God, our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion, and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen. (ESV)

Observation:

This is my last post of the year. There are things in all three of the books assigned to my day that I would like to share with you, but alas I can only do one. I would love to share the perspective of 2 John. The letter the Apostle John writes to a woman leader who is doing an effective job being used to forward the Kingdom of God. I could reflect on the women who have contributed to this blog and the way they have blessed hundreds with their words. I could reflect on the church that met in Gaius’ home and how they supported strangers who went out for the sake of the Name. I cry every time I read that passage, there are so many that have gone out in anonymity for the sake of the name that we will only hear about in heaven, and faithful churches that stood behind them.

But this being the end of the year, these verses of Jude come to my mind.  It’s all about Jesus and what He has done and is doing for us. He keeps us from stumbling. Even though we know we are not perfect, He paid the price so that we could stand before the Father perfect! We are caught-up in an eternal plan that lasts through the ages into eternity. What humbling thoughts when we think of where each of us have come from. And this God of glory cares about each one of us and sustains and keeps us all.

Application:

I don’t think about things the way Jude did. I think of myself and what I get out of life. Jude raises our gaze to the great God of the universe and not only what He has done for us, but what our adoration and praise should be back to Him. And this plan was conceived in eternity past and will carry us into the eternity of the future! What a blessed thought to dwell on as we close out 2009. Blessings on you all!

Prayer:

Thank You Father God for your sustaining keeping power in our lives. We recognize you to be the only wise God who is full of majesty and glory and honor and power before all time, now and forever! I pray these things in Jesus Name, Amen.

dmbaldwin

Leave a Reply

