Power Shaking Prayer:

This is the post I contributed to 66books Through the Year that I contribute to on a regular basis (http://66books.wordpress.com). If you are struggling in reading the Bible every day, I would encourage you to look at this very important blog.

Scripture:

4:31After they prayed, the place where they were meeting was shaken. And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and spoke the word of God boldly (NIV).

Observation:

Wow, what a result from a prayer meeting! The place where the disciples were meeting to pray was shaken by the power of the Holy Spirit. I haven’t been in a prayer meeting like that ever. The disciples were establishing the church in these early days. These men and women had been with Jesus and experienced the risen Christ. They were now absolutely sure of the message of the gospel. No faith here (faith was reality for them), they were living out their true eternal destiny on the streets of Jerusalem every day. They were fearless and stood up to the religious leaders of the time. These prayers were probably the most confident, powerful ones ever prayed. And the Holy Spirit replied by shaking the building. Being filled with the Holy Spirit helped obviously. Holy Spirit filled apostles who were sure of the message they preached is a recipe for a shaking building.

Application:

I sound a bit like a doubter. I am not. When I think of those first century Christ-followers I think of people who were with Jesus and experienced his resurrection ministry and ascension. They were the most confident — sure — of their faith than anyone ever has been. So much so I think their prayers reflected it. Not that I don’t pray in faith, or you don’t, it’s more they were experiencing something so powerful and real that they prayed in a fashion that brought glory to God. How can I pray more like these apostles? I believe I need to spend time with Jesus and ask for His filling everyday. A Spirit filled person is one who is more confident in her faith. A Spirit filled believer is spending time listening to what God is saying to him. By so doing one’s faith becomes stronger and our prayers more effectual.

Prayer:

Father God thank you that you raised Jesus from the dead through the power of your Holy Spirit. Help us to ask for that filling of the same Holy Spirit in our lives. I ask that our prayers would be earth-shaking prayers that further your kingdom. I pray these things in the strong and real Name of Jesus, Amen.

Leave a Reply

