Ask, Go Ahead and Ask!

Just a reminder that I contribute another blog entitled 66books in a year.  It’s a great way to read through the Bible in a year.  Lots of great people contributing.

My observations today fall on the passage where the prophet Jeremiah asks God for healing, salvation and safety!  He asks in such a bold way, I’m not sure I’d ask that boldly!  But Ask, Go Ahead and Ask!

Scripture:

Jeremiah 17:14-18

14Heal me, O LORD, and I shall be healed;
save me, and I shall be saved,
for you are my praise.
15Behold, they say to me,
“Where is the word of the LORD?
Let it come!”
16I have not run away from being your shepherd,
nor have I desired the day of sickness.
You know what came out of my lips;
it was before your face.
17Be not a terror to me;
you are my refuge in the day of disaster.
18Let those be put to shame who persecute me,
but let me not be put to shame;
let them be dismayed,
but let me not be dismayed;
bring upon them the day of disaster;
destroy them with double destruction (English Standard Version)!

Observation:

In the midst of judgment and suffering all around, Jeremiah stands firm before the Lord and asks to be blessed, healed and saved.  He has had his own disappointment in life and with God’s dealing with him, but he stands firm before the Lord and asks for protection and safety.  He also asks that his enemies be destroyed.  What faith in his position before the God of the universe and the role he plays in God’s economy of ministry and justice!

Application:

I’m not sure I can stand as bold as Jeremiah did before the Lord.  There are always things that He can bring before me that I need to change and work on.  I have asked for healing and been healed.  I have asked for safety from my enemies and it has been given.  I have asked for salvation and been given it.  So, I’m not sure it’s the force with which one asks, but the plan God has that counts.  I have seen God’s plan play out in my life and that of my family.  Many times, like Jeremiah, it’s been in the midst of suffering, pain and confusion.  Other times it has been clear and beautiful.  God uses all of us who are following strong after Him, both during times of confusion and clarity.

Prayer:

Father God thank you for including me in your plan.  Thank You for your healing, restoring, saving ministry in my life.  Help me to never forget that I belong to You and You have the very best in store for me, no matter what.  I look forward to Your healing, restoring and saving ministry again tomorrow and the next day and the next.  I pray these things in the Name of Jesus, Amen.

dmbaldwin

2 responses to “Ask, Go Ahead and Ask!

  1. Reading this reminds me of times when I pleaded with the Lord,pouring out emotions, requests, and thoughts before Him. How much more did Jesus do the same at Gethsemane?! Thank you for the reminder to simply ASK!

Leave a Reply

