Gaining Understanding:

As I have shared with you all so many times before, I contribute to another blog (66books in a year).  I would encourage you to read that on a regular basis.  Well below you’ll find my post on that blog for today.  Hope you enjoy it.

Blessings,

Dave

Scripture: 4:5-13

5 Get wisdom, get understanding;
do not forget my words or swerve from them.

6 Do not forsake wisdom, and she will protect you;
love her, and she will watch over you.

7 Wisdom is supreme; therefore get wisdom.
Though it cost all you have,
get understanding.

8 Esteem her, and she will exalt you;
embrace her, and she will honor you.

9 She will set a garland of grace on your head
and present you with a crown of splendor.”

10 Listen, my son, accept what I say,
and the years of your life will be many.

11 I guide you in the way of wisdom
and lead you along straight paths.

12 When you walk, your steps will not be hampered;
when you run, you will not stumble.

13 Hold on to instruction, do not let it go;
guard it well, for it is your life (NIV).

Observation:

What an awesome passage.  It convinces us of the need to study biblical wisdom and submit to the ministry of God in our lives.  Here is a list of things that will happen to one who pursues wisdom:

  • They will be protected.
  • They will be exalted.
  • A person will be watched over who pursues wisdom.
  • Understanding will be gained.
  • Honor will be given to the one who gains wisdom.
  • Old age accompanies one who has wisdom
  • Instruction will bring life

What a grand list of things that happens to those who pursue understanding and wisdom.  In reading this passage it looks to be a life long endeavor.  And through the pursuit of wisdom we gain life.  What more do we want?  Every person should be pursuing wisdom.  There is so much that we benefit and grow in because we gain the wisdom God wants to give us.

Application:

Okay, this is something I “know”.  I have read this passage many times.  But what do I do?  I flee from wisdom.  I try so many different things to gain insight and understanding before turning to wisdom.  I use human understanding.  I read books by human authors.  That brings me some insight and encouragement, but not what I get from pursuing true wisdom.  The source of understanding that comes from the Bible we have been reading together for six and a half months now and the ministry of the Holy Spirit in our lives and God’s leading, and not from the world.  But where do I go first?  In what do I pride myself?  It’s in what I learn in this world from others, and not so much by what I learn from God’s Word and His Holy Spirit’s leading in my life.  Spiritual knowledge is what I need to base my life on and not the knowledge of friends, fads or philosophies of this world.

Prayer:

Father God help me to focus on your Word and Holy Spirit’s leading in my life.  In times of stress and difficulty as well as times of joy and praise help me to focus on you and your wisdom and not my own.  Please give me a ferocious appetite for wisdom that comes from you.  I pray these things in Jesus Name, Amen.

dmbaldwin

Leave a Reply

