A Leader’s Strategy:

As I have shared many times I also am a contributor to another blog titled, “Sixty-six Books in a Year”.  It’s a group of people that are reading through the Bible in a year.  Today I posted the observations below on that blog.  It struck me that Jehoshaphat’s approach to a challenging, career ending situation, is something that we as leaders can learn from.  Too many times we dis-regard the power and wisdom that comes from Him and attempt to work things out in our own power and wisdom  I think God want’s us to use Jehoshaphat’s strategy more than our own.  Hope this post encourages you today.

Scripture:

2 Chronicles 20:15-17,  15And he said, “Listen, all Judah and inhabitants of Jerusalem and King Jehoshaphat: Thus says the LORD to you, ‘Do not be afraid and do not be dismayed at this great horde, for the battle is not yours but God’s. 16Tomorrow go down against them. Behold, they will come up by the ascent of Ziz. You will find them at the end of the valley, east of the wilderness of Jeruel17You will not need to fight in this battle. Stand firm, hold your position, and see the salvation of the LORD on your behalf, O Judah and Jerusalem. ‘Do not be afraid and do not be dismayed. Tomorrow go out against them, and the LORD will be with you.” (English Standard Version)

Observation:

Jehoshaphat had been a good king.  He had instituted religious reforms and turned the nation of Judah back to God.  Now came his most challenging situation.  The Moabites and Ammonites were coming against Judah and the writer uses the term “horde” to describe how many of them there were.  And yet a prophet speaks the words above.  The people of Judah didn’t need to do anything but show up.  Now in an interesting strategic move Jehoshaphat puts the choir out front of the people, but it seemed to be the right thing to do!  The result?  It took three full days and on the fourth day they were done plundering the dead bodies of their enemy.  God had delivered Judah from her enemies and all the people had to do was pick-up after God’s deliverance.

Application:

How many times do I trust God as a leader knowing he has gone before me to fight the battle?  Not me, I scheme, think, work really hard, but rarely seek God’s counsel first.  Jehoshaphat sought God’s counsel first.  In fact the people of Jerusalem stood waiting to hear a word from God.  Me, I don’t stand quietly waiting for His word.  No, I strike out on my own trying to scale the next obstacle in ministry, or fix this relationship or bring this resource to bear on the situation.  But Jehoshaphat stood quietly before the Lord till He spoke.  I need to do more listening and less doing.  God’s power and wisdom are what I need to look for, not my own.

Prayer:

Father God, thank you for Jehoshaphat’s example of a leader who fully trusted in your deliverance.  Help me to be a leader like him.  One who waits on You for direction and deliverance instead of on my own puny resources and intellect.  Thank You for the times in the past when you have rescued me from the enemy.  Help me to learn from those experiences as well.  I pray these things in Jesus Name, Amen.

dmbaldwin

Leave a Reply

