Talent vs. Relationship:

As I have written a number of times I also contribute to another blog — 66 books in a year — and so I post my writings here when I do that contribution, so here it the one for today.  I think what impressed my most about this passage is that these men were called valiant, yet it was their relationship with the God of the universe that saved them, that made them successful.  In the leadership business we can many times get caught up with principles, talents, procedures and lose sense of what is really important.  For me that’s a relationship of trust in God.  Without that I am going to lose the battle and not finish my race.  Good reading!

Scripture:

Chapter 5:18-22

18The Reubenites, the Gadites, and the half-tribe of Manasseh had valiant men who carried shield and sword, and drew the bow, expert in war, 44,760, able to go to war. 19They waged war against the Hagrites, Jetur, Naphish, and Nodab. 20And when they prevailed over them, the Hagrites and all who were with them were given into their hands, for they cried out to God in the battle, and he granted their urgent plea because they trusted in him. 21They carried off their livestock: 50,000 of their camels, 250,000 sheep, 2,000 donkeys, and 100,000 men alive. 22For many fell, because the war was of God. And they lived in their place until the exile. (English Standard Version)

Observation:

The writer states that these men were valiant.  It reminds me of David’s might men of valor.  These guys did mighty things.  However in the middle of the battle, what really made them valiant was their cry to the Lord for success.  And because they trusted God He gave them victory that day on the battlefield.  I’m sure these men were strong and athletic and soldier-like.  But that’s not what mattered.  What mattered was their relationship with God and praying for great things from Him.  

Application:

I want to be a man of valor.  I want to be victorious in this race I am running for God.  I am reminded in these verses that it starts with my relationship, not my gifts or talents, but my relationship with the God of the universe.  A part from that relationship I am lost, the battle is lost.  I lose the race.  Too many times I have traded relationship for talent and have failed.  

Prayer:

Father God make me a valiant man for You.  Help me to realize it springs from a relationship of trust in You, not a superficial trust in me.  A lot hangs in the balance, so help me to apply this lesson to my life before the battle is lost and I lose the race.  Thank you that we can all be people of valor doing great things for You.

dmbaldwin

Leave a Reply

