Contrasting Leaders:

Once again I am including the post I did today for 66 books blog.  This has been a great privilege for me to join these excellent writers in working through the Bible.  This passage — 2 Samuel 10-12 — recounts the sharp contrast in leadership style and mentality.  It compares the lives and leadership styles of Joab and King David.  One man kept his eyes and devotions on God and the other did not.  What differing attitudes and consequences!  I hope you enjoy the post!

Scripture:

2 Samuel 10:12 -14,  12Be of good courage, and let us be courageous for our people, and for the cities of our God, and may the LORD do what seems good to him.” 13So Joab and the people who were with him drew near to battle against the Syrians, and they fled before him. 14And when the Ammonites saw that the Syrians fled, they likewise fled before Abishai and entered the city. Then Joab returned from fighting against the Ammonites and came to Jerusalem.

2 Samuel 11:1, 1In the spring of the year, the time when kings go out to battle, David sent Joab, and his servants with him, and all Israel. And they ravaged the Ammonites and besieged Rabbah. But David remained at Jerusalem.   (English Standard Version)

Observation:

I like Joab.  He was a man who understood God’s plan for Israel and the people that David ruled.  Other times in the Bible he spoke bluntly to David.  I love his optimism and commitment to God.  He was ready to go fight the Syrians and the Ammonites no matter what the outcome because he was doing it for God.  David on the other hand had gotten lazy and lost his focus and in the spring when kings went out to war, he sent Joab instead of going himself.  The result was the low point in King David’s rule.  Murder, adultery, lying and death of his son from Bathsheba resulted in his lazy approach to leadership.  Nothing good came out of him taking his eyes off of his role as a leader in Israel.  What acatastrophe.  Joab commanded David’s mighty men of valor, he was obedient to God’s will for his life and was anoptimistic leader.  One who did great things for God.  Unlike his commander, one who put his desires and ideas before the Lord’s.  Give me Joab any day!

Application:

How many times have I played it safe, have I become fuzzy in my focus on God.  I can thank Him that I haven’t suffered the consequences David did.  Yet, those trivial pursuits that tempt me every day that I give into do take my eyes away from the purpose God has for me.  I compromise a hundred times a day instead of staying focused on the cause God has called me to.  My desire is to be more like Joab, the eternally optimistic leader who stays focused, instead of the self-indulgent king who wastes his energies and pursuits on himself.  

Prayer:

Father God, forgive me for the times I have compromised your calling on my life.  I have squandered opportunities that you have given me to fulfill.  Help me to stay focused like Joab did.  Help my life to be marked by an optimistic confidence in Your plan for my life and ministry.  I pray these things in Jesus Name, Amen.

dmbaldwin

Leave a Reply

