Ruth 1-4

Once again I post for the blog 66 books in a year.  So I thought I’d post that one from this morning here as well.  It is a theme I have been thinking about for quite some time now.  Ruth is a good book from the Old Testament that addresses integrity and building a legacy.  I’m in Ukraine now working with people who’s grandparents and great grandparents suffered for their faith in many ways.  This is the first generation here that is experiencing the kind of freedom that we have experienced in the West for hundreds of years.  What a legacy these young people enjoy today!  So here’s the post.

Scripture:

Ruth 4:18-22, 18Now these are the generations of Perez: Perez fathered Hezron, 19Hezron fathered Ram, Ram fathered Amminadab, 20 Amminadab fathered Nahshon, Nahshon fathered Salmon, 21Salmon fathered Boaz, Boaz fathered Obed, 22Obed fathered Jesse, and Jesse fathered David.

Observation:

An interesting conclusion to these four short chapters.  There’s so much that could have been written to conclude this book, but the author decided to show the reader that Ruth was the great grandmother of King David.  Perhaps it was a way of sharing with us the source of some of David’s character traits.  He may not have known his great grandmother personally, but he would have heard this story.  And what we know of Ruth in these four chapters I’m sure there were many more stories David knew that we are not privy to.  David from his earliest years knew he was a part of this godly legacy.  He would have been told his role in living out a legacy that stretched over generations.

Application:

Here I am again thinking about godly legacies again.  It is a reoccurring theme in the Bible.  In today’s passage I realize that I am a link in the generations that are on either side of me.  I remember my grandmother Hungerford’s strong faith in God.  She was the only one of my grandparents who followed strong after Him.  What will my grandchildren remember about me?  Will they remember my faith in God and how it worked it’s way out in my life?  Will I live out enough stories that my children can tell to their grandchildren if I’m not around?  I am struck by the reality that I am not living this Christian life for me only, but for the generations that follow as well.

Prayer:

Father God help me to start living stories that my children can share with their grandchildren.  Don’t let me live this Christian life just for me, but for the generations to come.  Thank You for my children and grandchildren.  Thank You that they are following strong after You.  I pray these things in Jesus Name, Amen.

(dmbaldwin)

2 responses to “Ruth 1-4

  1. Ohhh-I am listening to Mark Driscoll’s (Mars Hill Church, Seattle) series “Redeeming Ruth” right now. It’s SOOOOO good!!! What an amazing picture of the redemptive love of Christ for us. Thanks for sharing Dave!

  2. Jen, thanks for the idea. I’ll need to get a hold of those messages. I assume I can get them from the church website.

    Thanks for the encouragement.

    Blessings,

    Dave

Leave a Reply

