They is Us:

Last week in our all staff meeting Nina told us that in leading her team she has started to not let people talk about they or them.  They should do this, they should do that.  She told us she is starting to say, “They is us.”  I thought it was something I wanted to blog about so she sent me an email that talks about the ten most important phrases or words leaders need to say.  And really all of us need to think about and do whether we are leading or not.  They are words taken from  B.J. Gallagher and Steve Ventura in their book, Who Are “They” Anyway?  I thought they were worth sharing so here goes:

The 10 most important words:
I won’t wait for others to take the first step.
The 9 most important words:
If it is to be, it’s up to me.
The 8 most important words:
If not me, who? If not now, when?
The 7 most important words:
Let me take a shot at it.
The 6 most important words:
I will not pass the buck.
The 5 most important words:
You can count on me.
The 4 most important words:
It IS my job!
The 3 most important words:
Just do it!
The 2 most important words:
I will.
The most important word:
Me

Wow, if we could get our teams to think this way, how much more could be accomplished.  Thanks so much Nina for giving us those words, “They is us!”  It has helped me think through my leadership of the team I love to lead.

That’s this leader’s view!

Blessings,

Dave

2 responses to “They is Us:

  1. i made a speech in 1964 in toastmasters titled: “there ain’t no THEY”. it is true…there’s only you and me to get the job done. i don’t know if you will ever read this comment, but if you do…you will remind your audience if anyone ever says when are they going to do something, tell them to answer their own question.

    • I love your approach to this topic. I will remember your response. I’m sure it will come in handy. When you are leading an organization you always have to remind people that we’re all in it together. Thanks so much for the comment.
      Blessings,
      Dave

Leave a Reply

