Joshua 11-13

Once again I am posting what I have written for 66 Books Blog.  I do believe this passage is for leaders.  It describes the fear Joshua experienced as a leader and his obedience in light of that fear.  I hope you enjoy the read.

Scripture:

 6And the LORD said to Joshua, “Do not be afraid of them, for tomorrow at this time I will give over all of them, slain, to Israel. You shall  hamstring their horses and burn their chariots with fire.” 7So Joshua and all his warriors came  suddenly against them by the waters of Merom and fell upon them. 8And the LORD gave them into the hand of Israel, who struck them and chased them as far as Great Sidon and Misrephoth-maim, and eastward as far as the Valley of Mizpeh. And they struck them until he left none remaining. 9And Joshua did to them just as the LORD said to him: he hamstrung their horses and burned their chariots with fire. (ESV)

Observation:

Joshua must have been afraid.  If God says don’t be afraid and he knows the thoughts and intents of our hearts then he must have been afraid.  And who wouldn’t be afraid?  When the armies massing around you are like the sand of the seashore.  Wow!  And yet God gives Joshua a glimpse into his plan of victory for the armies of the living God.  They were going to route these foreign armies and destroy even their horses.  And that’s what happened.  Just as God predicted.  Joshua kept his whits about him and did his part when the time was right.  He was obedient to God’s instruction to him and the Israelite armies.

Application:

I am afraid about something almost every day.  God has me on a fantastic journey and yet I am afraid of the outcome.  And there are times I don’t always follow through with his instructions to me for when His will is played out in my life and ministry.  I need to first admit I’m afraid and yet trust Him for the outcome knowing He knows best in every circumstance.  And then I need to follow through with what I know He wants me to do in each circumstance.  It’s not a sin to be afraid, but it is sin not to trust God with the outcomes and not move forward in confidence.  Something I need to re-learn every day.

Prayer:

Father God thank you for promising ultimate victory for us.  Help me to move forward in my fear, but more importantly let me appropriate your Holy Spirit’s love, power and self-discipline in my life each day.  Help me to keep my whits about me so that when You give me the victory I’m ready to follow through with my part in the plan.  I pray these things in Jesus Name.  Amen.

dmbaldwin

2 responses to “Joshua 11-13

    • Thanks Al. I always appreciate feedback to my posts. Why do you think it’s interesting? I’d love to hear from you.

      Blessings,

      Dave

Leave a Reply

