Leadership in Ukraine (cont’d.):

Just a catch-up here.  Lance Burch and I leave a week from Friday for a time of teaching at Kiev Theological Seminary (KTS).  We are teaching a modular course on leadership in the local church.  I thought I’d post some of the stuff we’re going to be teaching as we get ready to go and share some Ukraine stories.  Today we’re going to look at the process of visioneering based on the book by that name written by Andy Stanley.  

Visioneering: It is the course one follows to make dreams a reality.  It is the process whereby ideas and convictions take on substance. 

  • VISIONEERING = INSPIRATION + CONVICTION + ACTION + DETERMINATION + COMPLETION
  • A clear vision, along with the courage to follow through, dramatically increases your chances of coming to the end of your life, looking back with a deep abiding satisfaction, and thinking, I did it.  I succeeded.  I finished well.  My life counted. 
  • Vision is born in the soul of a man or woman who is consumed with the tension between what is and what could be.
  •  There is always a moral element to vision.  Vision carries with it a sense of conviction.  Anyone with a vision will tell you this is not merely something that could be done.  This is something that should be done.  This is something that must happen.  [I know I’m going to do a lot of explaining to get this next illustration across in Kiev, but I want to share the Bill Hybels’ example of a god-given vision brithed in someone using the Popeye illustration he uses.  “That’s all I can stands. I can’t stands no more!”  Have you ever felt that way about anything?  Perhaps that’s your god-given vision!]

The biblical context to this lesson will be the first chapter of Nehemiah.  I’m sure Nehemiah said words similar to Popeye — “That’s all I can stands.  I can’t stands no more!”  — when he heard about the plight of those in Jerusalem and the broken down wall.  He began the process of visioneering.  

It will take us some two hours to unpack all that, but we should have fun.

So a Ukrain story… let me think…  In September of 1992 I was with a group of people that toured Russia and Ukraine with SEND International.  We had spent two days in Kiev, thirty-six hours in Vinnitsa and two days in Odessa.  We were then to take a flight back to Moscow.  Well, the flight was overbooked, but no one missed it.  About seventeen people stood in the isles duing the two and a half hour flight back to Moscow.  An older woman sat on a peach crate by the cockpit door.  Quite amazing having that experience.  I wasn’t sure we’d make it off the runway, but we did.

Well that’s this leader’s view.

Blessings,

Dave

Leave a Reply

