Building A Legacy: (Part 2)

Once again I am including a post here that is also on another one I do titled sixty-six books in a year.  It’s a Bible reading blog.  We are reading the Bible through in a year.  Yet, this blog pertains to leadership as well.  How are you doing in building a godly legacy for your family?  We find answers to that question in the passage of Scripture below.  Have a good read.

Scripture Passage: 

 4“Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one. 5You  shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. 6And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. 7You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. 8You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. 9You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates, Deuteronomy 6:4-9. (ESV)

Observation: These verses contain the foundations for building a godly legacy in our families.  Too many times people become concerned with leaving a legacy without the time and effort it takes to build one.  These verses give us the greatest commandment and then share the way this command and all of God’s Word can become a part of who we are.  It takes constant attention.  From these verses we are told that it isn’t a formal thirty to sixty minute discipline daily, not it’s every moment and a very relational task.  This passage gives us mothers and fathers the charge to build the godly legacy.  It’s not the church’s responsibility, nor other adults primarily.  The charge rests on our shoulders.

Application:  My role as the father of our family is to lead the way in this effort.  I need to pray daily for my wife, children and grand children.  When I have opportunity for conversation with my family it needs to be seasoned with the things of God.  I need to be proactive in asking my children and grand children what God is doing in their lives.  Spending time with my wife in prayer and spiritual conversation is of most importance.  That’s the way I leave a godly legacy, it’s by building one.

Prayer:  Father God thank you for the family you have given me.  I pray today that you would make me ever mindful about the godly legacy we are building together.  Season my words with thoughts of You.  Help me to turn conversations with family members toward You.  When necessary I pray that I would speak the hard words a family member needs to hear so that they focus back on Your will for their lives.  I pray these words in Jesus Name, Amen. 

dmbaldwin

That’s this leader’s view.

Blessings,

Dave

Leave a Reply

