Building a Legacy:

 

Now obviously I’m going to do this topic a HUGE disservice by only spending one post on it.  Perhaps by the time I’m done with the post I will need to split it in two and do a couple.

 

Anyway, how did I arrive at this topic — Building a Legacy?  Well I my curiosity was piqued when I read my friend, Jodie Zorbaugh’s blog.  She was following the directions of Courtney Lilly.  Now this is third hand, so I may not quite get it right.  Here’s what you do:

  1. Go to the Pictures Folder on your computer.
  2. Pick the fourth sub-folder.
  3. Pick the fourth picture in that folder.
  4. Blog about that picture.

So here’s my picture.  The beautiful Grandma & Simeonwoman on the right is my wife Louise and the little guy on the left is our most recent grandson, Simeon Livingston Baldwin.  We have two other grandchildren.  We obviously have a son and daughter that are parents to these three and we have two more daughters.  I think a lot about leadership in the family context.  And I hear a lot about people saying they want to leave a legacy.  My feeling is if you want to leave a legacy you need to build one.  That’s what I have attempted to do with our family.  I guess only time will tell if I have done it right or not.  So what are some of the things I have done as the leader of our family to build a legacy.  I thought of several things:

  1. I have always tried to make our family feel special and important.  We have had fun together.  We’ve travelled together.  I’ve been my children’s and grandchildren’s biggest cheer leader.
  2. I’ve included our children in the ministry I have been involved with.  I have taken them along on outings and meetings.  It’s not me doing things alone but we as a family doing them together.
  3. I have challenged them to think about what they could become.  Our daughter went to college a 9 hour car drive away.  We would take along a bunch of John Maxwell tapes and listen to them and talk about leadership and life issues over those 9 hours.  
  4. I pray for my children and grandchildren every day.  In fact I have set the alarm on my phone to go off hourly during the day.  When it goes off I say a sentence prayer for one of them.
  5. I remind them I am proud of them and love them.  I do that often.  I remind them who they are.  I ask them what their last name is and I encourage them to live up to that name.

Hopefully by doing some of these things we are building a legacy.  One that will last for generations.  I think when most people start thinking about leaving a legacy it’s probably a little too late.

So how bout you.  What are you doing with your family to build a legacy?  Are there things you could add to the list?  Please share your thoughts.  I’m sure we’ll add some things to the list if we put our minds to it.

Well that’s this leader’s view.

Blessings,

Dave

2 responses to “Building a Legacy:

    • Thank you for the encouragement Kristen. I’ll tell you more about the post when we talk on the weekend.
      Hope you guys are all doing well.
      Blessings,
      Dave

Leave a Reply

