Travelling Light:

When do ideas hit you?  Mine come in the shower, on the elliptical trainer and believe it or not while I’m vacuuming the house.  Well Friday afternoon I was vacuuming and an idea hit me about how those of us as leaders need to live.  See if this strikes a chord with you.  And really this is an idea I am presently struggling with.  But here goes.  How settled do you feel?  The Apostle Peter writes that we are aliens in this world.  We read these words from Peter:

11Dear friends, I urge you, as aliens and strangers in the world, to abstain from sinful desires, which war against your soul. 12Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day he visits us. (NIV)

These words weren’t written just to leaders but to everyone who follows Christ.  Yet we as leaders should model the way.  We of all people should not build castles in a land where we are strangers and passer through.  I know many times I’m worried about building my own kingdom and not God’s.  I’m worried about how long I’ll stay in one place or another, instead of in the moment focusing on what God is calling me to do.

And who knows, He may be calling you to a different position in the Kingdom.  There may be more work for us to do than where we are presently.  Are we travelling lightly enough that if God calls us half way around the country or world it doesn’t take forever to become un-entangled with the roots we have sunk deep?  I know I am prone to do that.  It makes life safe if we make it hard to move.

When we decided God was calling us to Baltimore, I thought it would take us forever to untangle 22 years of roots in Indiana.  But you know what?  It was relatively simple.  I do remember the morning in April ’04 when I was sitting in my quiet time chair and I just felt differently.  I felt better rested and ready to ramp up the energy here.  So it did take five months to recover from the move.  But we did it.  We obeyed God and reported for a new assignment half a country away.  And you know all the fears we had … God turned them into blessings!  And I really mean that.

So are you ready to move when the Holy Spirit nudges?  Am I ready?  Am I living on the light side so it’s easier to follow God where ever He calls?  Are you?

Well, that’s this leader’s view.

Blessings,

Dave

Leave a Reply

